“Fashions fade, style is eternal”-Yves Saint Laurent

11 Sep

Spring two years ago I can distinctly remember I went into town wearing a pair of my new red chinos. This is not a bold of daring move by any means,red suits me and I’ve always loved chinos. However I can remember getting the odd look and murmur walking past groups of, lets say best described as street youths. This didn’t bother me then nor does it now, I’m writing this not for sympathy or an attack on small minded individuals. I’m writing this because since X-Factor and Simon Cowell have gave birth to One Direction the fashion of the high street has been pretty much dictated by their style ever since.

Yes boy bands and music icons of every era have dictated fashion with the people emulating their idols,so whats different here. Well for starters Ireland,where I’m from, has always been very conservative in most respects but men’s fashion especially.A normal Saturday night for most Irish men is a night out on the town, few scoops and try to pull a bird. Key to success apart from that enchanting Irish charm, shirt and shoes. Not your fitted Italian jeans and suede monk-straps now but generally a pair of bootcut jeans with a loafer style shoe with a considerable sole. I’m not attacking Irish men’s style here that’s their own prerogative but I’m trying to highlight the polar shift since last Christmas to the fashion in this country.

So post X-factor 2011 One Direction are in the limelight looking fresh with colour coordinated chinos,slim fit blazers, dickie bows and pocket squares. The high street are loving this with the likes of Topman, H&M and River Island to name a few churning out chinos in every colour and everything else that One Direction seem to sport. Never have I seen the nation on a whole go crazy for trend setting with bars and nightclubs on the weekends all over Ireland giving an injection of much needed colour. It hasn’t faltered either with Spring/Summer colours of red, orange and bright blues moving over for Autumn/Winter colours of burgundy, green and mustard. The fashion world has always had key colours for seasons but never before has the high street taken to following key colours with such aplomb.

I for one think it’s great that Irish men are starting to become a little braver with their attires. It does bemuse me however that it took till 2012 and the catalyst was the manufactured boy band One Direction. It’s possible it has a lot to do with Irish ladies softening their views about men’s fashion and that just because it’s bright it’s camp. Therefore the evolutionary process has forced Irish men to change their wardrobes to find a mate on those magical Saturday nights. One thing I will take away from my observations is the famous words from French designer Yves Saint Laurent “Fashions fade, style is eternal”.

Leave a Reply

